Valiant Comics since their relaunch in 2013 has been one of the best rated publishers in comics. They’re small and don’t release tons of comics on a monthly basis, but what they put out can compete with the Big 2. So if you’re looking to step away from the the constant rebooting and sometimes controversial actions of Marvel and DC, or are just looking for some fresh superhero action Valiant should be your next stop.

Valiant has revitalized some creators’ faith in the superhero genre and Valiant has titles in each genre as well. Supernatural horror, Globetrotting adventure, comedy, team books, sci-fi adventures, cyber punk dystopia and more. One bonus Valiant has over their competitors is that their universe is only 5 years old, so its easier to catch up on everything. Here are some Valiant Comics you should check out:


10. Britannia
Best thing about this series is how independent it is from the rest of the Valiant Universe. Roman Centurion Antonius Axia had his mind broken by a demon while on a tour in Gaul. He was healed by the Vestal Virgins, and learned many things about the human mind. Cause and Effect. Psychology. He operates in the Roman Empire as the world’s first detective. He is sent to Britannia by Emperor Nero to investigate some unnatural happenings.




9. Rai Vol. 1 Welcome to New Japan
In the year 4001 AD, the advanced AI system Father leads the satellite nation New Japan which orbits a ravaged earth. Rai is the right hand of Father, and considered a folk legend. Until the first murder in a thousand years happens. Rai is sent to investigate and in doing so he’s forced to face the truth about what New Japan really is, and who Father is.

This series leads into the 4001 AD event, and the eventual War Mother series. Rai is written by Matt Kindt with art by Clayton Crain.



8. Armor Hunters
Valiant’s biggest crossover event featuring X-O Manowar, Bloodshot, Unity, and the Harbinger Renegades. Bounty Hunters from across the galaxy have arrived on earth to exterminate the X-O Manowar armour and any similar tech. And they are relentless. They’ll do anything to destroy the galaxy’s most powerful weapon.

Written by Robert Venditti and art by Doug Braithwaite.




7. Faith Vol. 1 Hollywood & Vine
Faith Herbert is the plus-sized, high flying hero known as Zephyr. A geek and psiot, this is her first solo adventure after being part of the Harbinger Renegades and Unity.

Faith is working in LA for an entertainment website and has a mild-mannered secret identity! Lots of superheroing on the side. Then she uncovers an alien conspiracy in Hollywood.

Written by Jody Houser, with art by Marguerite Sauvage and Francis Portella. Faith eventually has her own event where she leads her own taskforce to save reality with the help of some timewalkers.

6. Archer and Armstrong Vol. 1 The Michelangelo Code
Archer is a teenager raised by zealous Christian parents to be the assassin of the Anti-Christ. Armstrong is an immortal drunkard believed to be the Anti-Christ. Now they are best friends and they travel the world taking down clandestine sects.

This is the series that introduces the immortal Anni-Padda brothers, Armstrong, Gilad the Eternal Warrior, and Ivar the Timewalker; and the Geomancers.



5. Shadowman Vol. 1 Birth Rites
Jack Boniface has found out he is the latest heir to the Shadowman legacy. When he returns to New Orleans to learn more about his parentage, Boniface becomes bonded to a loa or voodoo spirit that gives Shadowman his powers. Volume 1 introduces Master Darque (the most evil character in all of the Valiant universe in my opinion), and the Deadside: Valiant’s version of the underworld.

Written by Justin Jordan with art by Patrick Zircher. Doctor Mirage makes her first appearance in Volume 2 and spins off into her own series.


4. X-O Manowar Vol. 1 By the Sword
Prince of the Visigoths, Aric of Dacia, was abducted by aliens during the era of the Roman Empire. He worked for years as a slave under the aliens called the Vine. Finally, Aric led a slave riot and stole the X-O Manowar armour that the Vine worshiped as a god. He returned to Earth in the modern-day.

Written by Robert Venditti with art by Cary Nord, this is the series that started everything for Valiant. Introducing Ninjak. The battle with Unity. The Armor Hunters event. Aric is a man out of time, and the world’s greatest hero.



3. Divinity
Abram Adams is a Black Russian Cosmonaut. He and two others were sent out into deep space during the Cold War. The mission was top secret and was supposed to be decades long. Divinity sees Abram return to Earth and affecting the fabric of reality. Unity is called in to apprehend him.

Created by Matt Kindt and Trevor Hairsine, this is the first character without a 90’s Valiant counterpart. Divinity II sees fellow cosmonaut Myshka return to Earth from the Unknown and try to restore the Soviet Union. Divinity III: Stalinverse sees Ninjak and Toyo Harada trying to convince Divinity to help turn the world back to the way it should be. Eternity sees Abram and Myshka return to the Unknown.

2. Harbinger Wars
This was Valiant’s first crossover event. Toyo Harada’s Harbinger Foundation and paramilitary contractor Project Rising Sprit have been at war with each other over psiots; humans with the potential for powers. A group of these psiots, children known as Generation Zero, escaped from PRS and everyone came for them with their own goals in mind. Bloodshot, H.A.R.D. Corps, Harada, and Peter Sanchek’s Renegades will all meet for a superhuman showdown.

Valiant has slated this to be adapted for a live-action film after their Bloodshot and Harbinger films are released.


1. The Valiant
Cowritten by Matt Kindt and Jeff Lemire with art by Paulo Rivera. Rivera’s art is gorgeous, and Kindt and Lemire have written some of the best stories at Valiant.

The Valiant tells the story of the Immortal Enemy. A creature that has hunted the Geomancers throughout the centuries and brought ruin each time. It has defeated Gilad, the Eternal Warrior, consistently but now Gilad has recruited everyone in the Valiant Universe to help stop it.

Sets up Lemire’s run on Bloodshot in Bloodshot Reborn and Bloodshot Salvation, and the event Book of Death by Robert Venditti.

Honourable Mention:

Unity – A team book that, thanks to Toyo Harada, unites X-O Manowar, Ninjak, Livewire, and the Eternal Warrior.

Quantum and Woody – A comedy series about two adopted brothers considered the world’s worst superteam. Their dad is a goat with superpowers. Created by Christopher Priest and Mark Bright.

Death-Defying Doctor Mirage – Shan Fong is a TV personality and paranormal investigator. She talks to ghosts, but the one ghost she can’t find is her late husband.

Bloodshot Reborn/Salvation – A super soldier with nanites in his system help him heal and interface with computers. In earlier volumes he’s a soldier that works for PRS due to their promises of helping restore his memory. More recently, Jeff Lemire has taken on the character, made him fall in love and gave him a child.

Josh Rose
Basically a hobbit, Josh is always enjoying food and drink, and going on unexpected adventures. Beware if you see him without a cup of coffee: caffeination deprivation makes this boy go loco.

Leave a Reply